Chris Brown has been nominated for five prizes at the Soul Train Awards.

The ‘Next 2 You’ singer is up for Best Male R&B/Soul Artist, Album of the Year for ‘F.A.M.E.’, Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year for ‘Look at Me Now’ (featuring Busta Rhymes and Lil Wayne), Song of the Year for ‘She Ain’t You’ and Best Dance Performance for the same track.

Chris faces tough competition in the Best Male R&B/Soul Artist category in which he is up against Trey Songz, Cee Lo Green, R. Kelly, Eric Benet and Miguel.

Although the 22-year-old musician leads the way in nominations, Beyonce Knowles and Kanye West are up for four accolades each, while Adele, Kelly Rowland and Chris’ ex-girlfriend Rihanna all have nods in three categories.

Adele, Chris and Kanye West will all battle it out for the prestigious Album of the Year trophy – with Kanye put forward for his LP ‘Watch the Throne’ with Jay-Z.

The Soul Train Awards will be taped on November 17 in Atlanta and will be screened BET (Black Entertainment Television) and its spin-off cable channel CENTRIC on November 27.

Cedric ‘The Entertainer’ is hotly rumoured to be hosting the event, while performers include Jill Scott, Robin Thickea and Miguel.

Soul Train Awards 2011 nominations:

Best New Artist:

Bruno Mars

Marsha Ambrosius


Frank Ocean

Best Male R&B/Soul Artist:

Trey Songz

Chris Brown

Cee Lo Green

R. Kelly

Eric Benet


Centric Award:


Raphael Saddiq


Anthony David

Aloe Blacc

Best Caribbean Performance:

‘Bend Over’ – Machel Montano

‘Man Down’ – Rihanna

‘Delilah’ – Movado

‘Wotless’ – Kes The Band

‘Summertime’ – Vybz Kartel

Best Gospel Performance

‘I Smile’ – Kirk Franklin

‘Walking’ – Mary Mary

‘Heaven Hear My Heart’ – Trin-I-Tee 5:7

‘I Believe’ – James Fortune feat. Shawn McLemore

‘More’ – Cece Winans

Album of the Year:

‘Passion Pain & Pleasure’ – Trey Songz

’21’ – Adele

‘F.A.M.E.’ – Chris Brown

‘Light of the Sun’ – Jill Scott

‘4’ – Beyonce Knowles

‘Watch the Throne’ – Jay Z/Kanye West