Ronnie Wood was named Music Radio Personality of the Year at the Sony Radio Academy Awards last night (09.05.11).

The Rolling Stones guitarist was commended at the industry prize-giving ceremony after just a year of hosting his own show on station Absolute Radio.

The judging panel called the star: “An amazing character with a really innovative programme.

“Ronnie has lived the life of a thousand men and you feel like a child sitting at his feet as he unfolds his rarefied story book.”

The musician collected his award shortly after British comedian Frank Skinner – who won the Best Entertainment Programme accolade for his eponymous show – and said: “This means more to me than it means to Frank, I think, because I’m the newcomer.”

The majority of the awards were handed out by star presenters, including Geri Halliwell, Andrea Corr, Rachel Stevens and James Morrison.

James admitted listening to the radio played an integral part in his early career, telling BANG Showbiz: “When I hear my own songs on the radio now, it reminds me of being a kid and used to listen to the radio, dreaming of wanting to write songs and get on the radio.

“It reminds me of listening to Radio 2 on a Sunday with my dad. I have the radio on a lot at home in the mornings and it’s a good rejuvenator for the day.”

Other winners at the ceremony – which was held at the Grosvenor House hotel in London – included broadcasters Jeremy Vine, Zane Lowe and Jenni Murray, while UK Station of the Year was named as commercial station talkSPORT.

Sony Radio Academy Awards, full list of winners:

Best Feature – ‘Heel, Toe, Step Together’ (BBC Radio 4)

Best Drama – ‘Every Child Matters’ (Radio 4)

Best Comedy – ‘The Jason Byrne Show’ (Radio 2)

Best News Special – ‘The Last Days of Raoul Moat’ (Real Radio North East)

Best Music Special – ‘The John Bonham Story’ (BBC 6 Music)

Best internet Programme – ‘Answer Me This!’ (Answer Me This

Best Use of Multiplatform – ‘BBC Introducing’ (Various BBC radio networks)

Best Single Promo/Commercial – ‘Capital’s Summertime Ball Mash-up’ (95.8 Capital FM)

Best Live Event Coverage – ‘The Ryder Cup On 5 Live’ (Radio 5 Live)

Best Promotional/Advertising Campaign -‘ Fifa World Cup 2010, South Africa’ (talkSPORT)

Best Community Programming – ‘Warning: May Contain Nuts’ (BBC Radio Berkshire)

Best Competition – ‘Beat The Star’ (Heart West Midlands)

Best Sports Programme – ‘Fighting Talk’ (Radio 5 Live)

Best Use of Branded Content – Alex Masterley (Classic FM)

News Journalist of the Year – Matthew Price (Radio 4)

Best Speech Programme – ‘The Infinite Monkey Cage’ (Radio 4)

Best On-Air Contributor – Annabel Port (Absolute)

Best Breaking News Coverage – ‘5 Live Drive: Birth Of The Coalition’ (Radio 5 Live)

Best Music Programme – Simon Mayo (Radio 2)

Rising Star Award – Robbie Savage (Radio 5 Live)

Special Award – Annie Nightingale (Radio 1)

Station Programmer of the Year – Moz Dee (talkSPORT)

Best Interview of the Year – Jeremy Vine interviews Gordon Brown (Radio 2)

Speech Radio Personality of the Year – Danny Baker (Radio 5 Live/BBC London 94.9)

Best Specialist Music Programme – Jazz on 3 (Radio 3)

Station of the Year (300,000 to one million) – BBC Radio Derby

Best Station Imaging – Kiss 100

Speech Broadcaster of the Year – Jeremy Vine (Radio 2)

Station of the Year (one million-plus) – 105.4 Real Radio North West

Best News & Current Affairs Programme – Victoria Derbyshire – BBC Radio 5 live

Digital Station of the Year – Fun Kids

Breakfast Show of the Year (under 10 million) – ‘The Graham Mack Breakfast Show’ (BBC Wiltshire)

Best Entertainment Programme – ‘The Frank Skinner Show’ (Absolute)

Music Broadcaster of the Year – Zane Lowe

Music Radio Personality of the Year – Ronnie Wood (Absolute)

Breakfast Show of the Year (10 million plus) – 5 Live Breakfast

UK Station of the Year – talkSPORT

Gold Award – Jenni Murray