R.E.M. will release three final tracks.

The band announced they were splitting up after 31 years together last week, but will release the last tracks they recorded together alongside a greatest hits package.

The songs, ‘We All Go Back To Where We Belong’, ‘A Month Of Saturdays’ and ‘Hallelujah’ were recorded in the band’s hometown, Athens, Georgia, with producer Jacknife Lee.

They will feature on the new compilation ‘Part Lies, Part Heart, Part Truth, Part Garbage, 1982 – 2011’, their first Best Of to span the band’s entire career.

Upon announcing their split, the band – bass player Mike Mills, singer Michael Stipe and guitarist Peter Buck – each wrote their feelings on the decision to call it a day.

Michael said: “A wise man once said – ‘the skill in attending a party is knowing when it’s time to leave.’ We built something extraordinary together. We did this thing. And now we’re going to walk away from it (sic).”

Mike later confirmed the band’s split is final and he does not think he will ever share a stage with his former bandmates again.

He said: “‘There is sadness because I will never play on the same stage as Peter and Michael again. We’re doing this for good reasons, and we end up looking back at all the fun, the joy and the incredible opportunities we had.”