Coldplay kicked off their European tour by streaming a concert live from the Plaza de Toros de Las Ventas in Madrid last night (26.10.11).

The British band performed a set which included songs from their new album ‘Mylo Xyloto’ and their extensive back catalogue at the show, held at the famous bullfighting venue in Spain, directed by Anton Corbijn and watched by millions around the world on YouTube as part of the American Express Unstaged series of shows.

The Dutch film director unleashed a host of artistic extras on the crowd throughout the show including a shower of paper butterflies during ‘Hurts Like Heaven’, confetti during ‘In My Place’ and balloons unleashed while the band played ‘Lost’.

Singer Chris Martin said the band chose the majestic venue to match Anton’s stunning visuals.

Speaking before the concert, he said: “We decided we’d like to do a concert which we’d broadcast on YouTube live around the world and just looked for some of the most beautiful buildings we could find and this is what we came up with, in one of the most beautiful cities in the world.”.

The band – which also includes Jonny Buckland, Will Champion and Guy Berryman – wowed the crowd in with a mix of older hits including ‘Yellow’, ‘Politik’ and ‘The Scientist’ and newer material such as ‘Paradise’ and ‘Violet Hill’ but it was the encore which impressed most with a stunning version of ‘Fix You’ which incorporated Amy Winehouse’s ‘Rehab’. Coldplay then closed the show with ‘Every Teardrop is a Waterfall’.

Coldplay were performing as part of `American Express Unstaged’, the sixth instalment within the music series and the first performance outside of the United States.

This innovative series brings together iconic music artists with renowned filmmakers who use digital and social media to connect the online audience to the live shows.

The gig was streamed live, but fans can watch it again at and keep up to date with `American Express Unstaged’ news on Facebook at

Coldplay’s full set list for Madrid show 26.10.11:

‘Mylo Xyloto’

‘Hurts Like Heaven’


‘In My Place’

‘Major Minus’


‘The Scientist’

‘Violet Hill’

‘God Put A Smile Upon Your Face’


‘Up in Flames’

‘Til Kingdom Come


‘Viva La Vida’

‘Charlie Brown’

‘Life Is For Living’



‘Fix You’ (with ‘Rehab’ intro)

‘Every Teardrop is a Waterfall’