Beauty

My Generation: Sixties beauty

Owen Bruce Image by: Owen Bruce Author: Elle Canada

Beauty

My Generation: Sixties beauty

 

Slideshow

prev next 1 of 8

My Generation: Sixties beauty

Sixties beauty: Daydream believer

Tweak the decade's iconic nude lip by adding a peachy shade. Keep the rest of your face naked and coat nails in a cappuccino hue. Try Bourjois Paris Rouge Edition Velvet Lipstick in Peach Club ($23), at Shoppers Drug Mart; shoppersdrugmart.ca, and Rimmel London Salon Pro with Lycra Nail Colour in Chick Click ($5.95), at drugstores and mass-market retailers. Wool dress and hat (DSquared2), at dsquared2.com, and viscose and polyester turtleneck (Theory), at Hudson's Bay, thebay.com.   The top nail polish colours for Fall 2014

Image by: ELLECanada.com By: ELLE Canada Source: Owen Bruce

My Generation: Sixties beauty

Sixties beauty: Space oddity

Elevate your liner by tracing a vivid colour into the eye crease; pull hair into a sleek and striking ponytail. Try NARS Larger Than Life Long-Wear Eyeliner in Barrow Street ($28), at narscosmetics.com; at Holt Renfrew, holtrenfrew.com; Hudson's Bay, thebay.com; Sephora, sephora.ca, and Matrix Oil Wonders Amazonian Murumuru Controlling Oil ($20), at salons nationwide. Velvet dress (Meadham Kirchhoff), at meadhamkirchoff.com, and gold necklace (Dean Davidson), at deandavidson.ca.   Fall 2014 beauty: Swinging '60s

Image by: ELLECanada.com By: ELLE Canada Source: Owen Bruce

My Generation: Sixties beauty

Sixties beauty: Leader of the pack

Amplified strands and sculpted skin ruled the runways. Take your look to the next level with Schwarzkopf Professional OSIS+ Volume Up Volume Booster Spray ($20), at schwarzkopf-professional.com, and Hard Candy Cheeks & Balances Blush in Cheeky Pink ($6.98), at Walmart; walmart.ca. Shantung dress (House of Holland), at houseofholland.co.uk, agate earrings (Dean Davidson), at deandavidson.ca, and gold headband (Jennifer Behr), at jenniferbehr.com.   GALLERY: The best lipsticks for Fall 2014

Image by: ELLECanada.com By: ELLE Canada Source: Owen Bruce

My Generation: Sixties beauty

Sixties beauty: Leader of the pack

Velvet dress (House of Holland) at houseofholland.co.uk, stretch mock turtleneck (Pink Tartan), pinktartan.com, and gold-plated earrings (Laruicci), laruicci.com.   Get fall's new metallic smoky eye

Image by: ELLECanada.com By: ELLE Canada Source: Owen Bruce

My Generation: Sixties beauty

Sixties beauty: Paint it black

Get into the whimsical spirit of the '60s by applying piles of L'Oreal Paris Voluminous Miss Manga Mascara ($11), at drugstores and mass-market retailers, over a set of falsies. Fake flawless skin with Yves Saint Laurent Teint Encre de Peau Fusion Ink Foundation ($64), at Holt Renfrew; holtrenfrew.com. Cotton turtleneck (Amour Vert), at amourvert.com and tassel earrings (Eddie Borgo), at eddieborgo.com.   GALLERY: Sixties-inspired beauty looks for Fall 2014

Image by: ELLECanada.com By: ELLE Canada Source: Owen Bruce

My Generation: Sixties beauty

Sixties beauty: Paint it black

Dress with leather detail (Gucci) at gucci.com, and silver tassel earrings (Eddie Borgo), eddieborgo.com.   How to rock a dark lip for Fall 2014

Image by: ELLECanada.com By: ELLE Canada Source: Owen Bruce

My Generation: Sixties beauty

Sixties beauty: Whiter shade of pale

Flashes of stark white - on eyes and nails - complete this mod look. Try Sally Hansen Miracle Gel in Gel Mod ($10.95), at drugstores and mass-market retailers, and Pupa Stylo Liner Vamp ($20), at Rexall; rexall.ca. Jacquard dress (Matthew Williamson), at matthewwilliamson.com, wool mock turtleneck (Pink Tartan), at pinktartan.com, and silver earrings (Ben-Amun), at ben-amun.com.   12 easy ways to get gorgeous lashes

Image by: ELLECanada.com By: ELLE Canada Source: Owen Bruce

My Generation: Sixties beauty

Sixties beauty: Wild thing

Go undercover with sleek bangs and clean skin; calm flyaways with Joico Heat Set Blowout Perfecting Crème ($16.49), at salons nationwide. Viscose and polyester mock turtleneck (Theory), at Hudson's Bay, thebay.com and metal earrings (Carole Tanenbaum Vintage Collection), at caroletanenbaum.com. Models, Fred (Plutino Models) & Maya (Sutherland Models); hair, Vittorio (Plutino Group/TRESemmé); makeup, Sabrina Rinaldi (P1M.ca/M.A.C/; nails, Melissa Forrest (P1M.ca/Sally Hansen Canada); stylist, Juliana Schiavinatto (P1M.ca); beauty direction, Katherine Flemming; art direction, Brittany Eccles.   Bold black eyeliners to try this season

Image by: ELLECanada.com By: ELLE Canada Source: Owen Bruce
Comments
Share X
Beauty

My Generation: Sixties beauty